Mattingly wins ANS best paper award

RADIANS team lead Prof. John Mattingly received a best paper award from the American Nuclear Society (ANS) Nuclear Criticality Safety Division (NCSD) at the summer 2012 ANS meeting.

Mattingly’s paper “An Evaluation of Monte Carlo Simulations of Neutron Multiplicity Measurements of Plutonium Metal,” co-authored by University of Michigan Nuclear Engineering Ph.D. student Eric Miller, demonstrated that the published value of the mean neutron multiplicity (nu-bar) of induced fission in 239Pu is significantly lower than it’s actual value.  Mattingly and Miller made this discovery by comparing Monte Carlo simulations of subcritical neutron multiplicity counting experiments to measurements Mattingly performed at the Nevada Test Site in 2009.  Their findings are of potentially substantial impact – they imply that current models of fission chain-reactions in plutonium significantly underpredict neutron multiplication.


Eric Miller graduated with his Ph.D. later in 2012; he now works for the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory.

Mattingly and Miller’s original work has formed the basis for continuing RADIANS research on sensitivity analysis, uncertainty quantification, and parameter estimation conducted by Ph.D. students Sean O’Brien and Alex Clark and postdoctoral scholar Todd Evans.  We have developed new methods for nuclear data evaluation using subcritical neutron multiplicity counting experiments, and we are very close to demonstrating, quantitatively and irrefutably, that the published value of nu-bar for 239Pu needs to be reevaluated.

Mattingly selected to serve on National Academy of Sciences panel

Prof. John Mattingly, the RADIANS team lead, was selected by the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) to serve on a multidisciplinary panel of experts to recommend metrics to evaluate the effectiveness of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Domestic Nuclear Detection Office‘s (DNDO) Global Nuclear Detection Architecture (GNDA).

Mattingly was selected because of his experience conducting radiation measurements of nuclear weapons and special nuclear material (SNM).  The panel is a multidisciplinary team consisting of distinguished experts in nuclear counter-terrorism, strategic planning, and systems analysis:

  • Arden Bement (chair)
  • Kelly Coyner
  • Martha Crenshaw
  • James S. Dyer
  • Roger L. Hagengruber
  • John H. Holmes
  • Edward H. Kaplan
  • John Mattingly
  • Gregory S. Parnell
  • Donald Prosnitz
  • Thomas C. Schelling
  • Detlof von Winterfeldt

The panel’s charge is to review DNDO’s current set of GNDA performance metrics, recommend new ones where they are needed, and suggest methods to evaluate GNDA performance.


The NAS panel’s recommendations were published in the book Performance Metrics for the Global Nuclear Detection Architecture (ISBN 978-0-309-29014-2), available from the National Academies Press.

DNDO has been working to implement the panel’s recommendations to guide its future investments in the operation and expansion of the GNDA.

Mattingly wins DNDO Nuclear Forensics Junior Faculty Award

Prof. John Mattingly, the RADIANS team lead, received an Early Career Award from the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Domestic Nuclear Detection Office (DNDO) to develop new methods to analyze interdicted, pre-detonation nuclear materials and post-detonation nuclear explosion debris (fallout).  DNDO awarded Prof. Mattingly $300,000 to conduct this research, and NCSU contributed $75,000 in matching funds.


Prof. Mattingly’s research is supported by NCSU graduate students Garrett Dean and Gabe Lucero and postdoctoral scholar Dr. Tony Nettleton.  Their work will enable the forensic analysis of interdicted, irradiated nuclear material and nuclear fallout.

Mattingly wins NNSA grant to characterize SNM

Prof. Mattingly, the RADIANS team lead, was awarded a $900,000 grant by the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) Office of Defense Nuclear Nonproliferation R&D to develop a new toolkit for the characterization of special nuclear material (SMN).


Prof. Mattingly’s research is supported by NCSU graduate students Garrett Dean and Sean O’Brien, postdoctoral scholar Todd Evans, research associate Jun Li, and Dave Anderson.  Their work will enable detailed characterization of SNM properties from neutron and gamma measurements.