Mattingly wins NNSA grant to characterize SNM

Prof. Mattingly, the RADIANS team lead, was awarded a $900,000 grant by the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) Office of Defense Nuclear Nonproliferation R&D to develop a new toolkit for the characterization of special nuclear material (SMN).


Prof. Mattingly’s research is supported by NCSU graduate students Garrett Dean and Sean O’Brien, postdoctoral scholar Todd Evans, research associate Jun Li, and Dave Anderson.¬† Their work will enable detailed characterization of SNM properties from neutron and gamma measurements.